Commitment to Significant Life

Commitment to Significant  Life is 5th in the series, A Heroine’s Journey Through a Mid-Life Crisis. Today we look at the question:

How can I ensure my commitment to living a significant life?

Several reactions to this question zipped through my brain when I first read it; several protests to the way it was worded. Ensure? As in guarantee? As in make a commitment?

And what exactly is a significant life? What makes my values the defining factor of significant? Having a child and doing the best I can to raise her is significant. Having a positive impact on as many people as possible is significant. Being happy and joyful is significant.

Yet, what of being God loving and church going? Being in a happy marriage? Having more than one child and a plethora of grandchildren? Owning a home and having a garden? Having an insignificant carbon footprint, especially as compared to an un-or under-educated woman in a small village somewhere in an underdeveloped country?

Or is this random blathering  just excuses so that I can avoid the intensely personal challenge of making a commitment to self? J

So in the past week, I actually have taken some steps committing to live a significant life. They’re scary actions, if I think about them for too long. The oh-shit-what-have-i-gotten-myself-into type of steps that usually include a fingers-crossed-please-let-this-work-out plea to the universe.

First, when I go back to teaching, I’m going back at 80% so that I have some energy left for writing. I’m creating space in my life for two things that I love. But money will be an issue.

Second, I joined a dating service for the first time in my life. Nothing to lose, everything to gain. However this is all still scary as hell because of, well, because of everything that could or could not happen.

What about you? What commitment can you make to live a significant life (as defined by you)?

2 thoughts on “Commitment to Significant Life

  1. What a loaded question. I see your dilemna. I try to live a significant life but I feel somehow it is lacking. I think this is a great wakeup call. Thanks for the post and the upsoming to do list it is generating. Brava to you for the 80% job. I think it is a wise career move.

    • Thanks, Jessica. I guess it’s a wise career move–depends on which career. Actually, now that I think of it, it’s a wise choice for both: I’ve carved out time for writing (hopefully), plus I’ll have time to enjoy the teaching.

Share your thoughts. . .

