Lost My Virginity Today

Today I lost my virginity. Quite a feat, considering that my daughter is twelve.

I prepared for the event. For days I’d been thinking about it. I’d lost sleep over it. I’d even missed work for it. But then this morning, the day I knew it had to happen, I sat my tushie down in my chair and I finished my preparations.

I edited. Then I wrote. Then I edited again. I read two different books on how to write a pitch and a synopsis for a query letter. I asked a friend and critique partner for feedback.  Spell check added the final touch.

I was finally ready to lose my virginity. Holding my breath, I hit the submit button. In doing so, I entered my first writing contest, submitting 2,000 words of my work in progress.

Yikes! It was terrifying! I’d been debating it since the contest was announced almost two weeks ago. What finally convinced me to fling my writing out into the world is that the contest is specifically for authors who are not yet published. Sponsored by She Writes, it’s called We Love New Novelists. Well, I’m definitely new. And I love to be loved. 🙂

I honestly don’t think I’ll win. Why not? A few reasons. First, those 2,000 words are not the best I’ve written. Second, chances are low that a first submission would be worthy of Best In Show. Third, I don’t want to get my hopes up in the slightest, littlest way. If I end up getting comments, I’m not sure I even want to read them because I don’t want to be crushed, laughed at, or read that I’m a horrible writer.

Yet, I want to improve, I want to get better, I want to someday win a writing contest. If I read the feedback and keep polishing my writing and synopsis for yet more submissions, maybe one day it will happen.

Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Lost My Virginity Today

  1. So much to do. I can’t keep up with it all. I also want to submit to the SFA.RAW chapter contest. Just need time to get my act together. Keep up the good work.
    Enjoy always, T

  2. Thanks, Reina. I took a look at who was judging and I don’t think anyone will actually be making comments. I should write that as another reason why I entered this contest. 🙂 Next contest is our local chapter-deadline has been extended until Aug 31st. I’m sure I’ll cry, but also hope that it helps me become a better writer.

  3. Congrats! I cried after I got my first contest feedback, but it made me a better writer once I got over it. 🙂 Hopefully you won’t cry, but I hope you get useful comments! 🙂

Share your thoughts. . .

