Swashbuckler Again. . .Six Sentence Sunday

Thank you so much for stopping by. I’ve missed the past two weeks of Six Sentence Sunday and I’m so happy to be back! Looking forward to getting lost in all of the incredible snippets from the other participating authors. As always, your comments and feedback are appreciated. 

This week I’m back with six sentences from Swashbuckler. We’re toward the beginning of the story. Rodger is in New York, preparing to fly out the next day. He’s just gotten off the phone with Rachel–they’ve fought and now he’s regretting his impulse to reach out to her.

He knew he shouldn’t have called her.

A week ago, after their night together in San Francisco, he’d wanted to call as soon as Rachel had left the hotel in the darkness of early morning.  But he waited, afraid of what she’d think. Afraid what it meant that he missed her already.  He’d tried to sleep to forget about Rachel, reasoning that he was only having a rebound reaction from the emotional trauma of divorcing Cynthia, his wife.  The day she’d be his ex-wife could not come soon enough.

16 thoughts on “Swashbuckler Again. . .Six Sentence Sunday

  1. I wanna know what they fought about! Clearly, Rodger’s got it bad. I love all the complicated relationships, just in this small snippet. Great six!!

    I’ve been a bit out of touch as well, as I’ve been working furiously on edits for my next release(s), a medieval Highlands trilogy.

  2. Ah, I sense the old girl time does NOT equal boy time conflict. Yes, he should have called her earlier rather than later. And I say that knowing absolutely nothing else about your story. LOL

  3. The emotion of the character really comes through in this six. I liked being inside his head.

    I apologize if I missed any of your six. I have been very busy, working on writing any minute I can get away from the kids.Its been tough. But if I missed any, I promise to read and comment this week 🙂

  4. I really liked the emotion in this six, Karysa. I liked him turning his attention to a new person even while he wanted freedom from the old. Nicely done. 🙂

  5. Ohhh, I wanna shake Rodger and get him to pick up that phone! I know he’s waiting on his divorce, but whatever! 😉
    It’s great you can evoke that response from me! Good six. 🙂

Share your thoughts. . .

