Snippet Sunday’s Swashbuckler #11~Date With Rodger

Thank you for stopping by for another week of Snippet Sunday and Weekend Writing Warriors. It’s been a long week at work and I’m soooo looking forward to diving into snippets–the long weekend makes it that much better!

I’m continuing with Swashbuckler, my contemporary romance. This snippet follows directly from last week’s after Rachel admitted to Rodger she couldn’t tell the difference between a British and Australian accent. It’s not a turning point in their relationship (don’t worry!). It was only meant as a funny moment to highlight how very uncomfortable Rachel is with going on a date with The Rodger Conrad, an A-list actor who is also the star of her fantasies. Phew. That was a long sentence…

If you’d like more deets on Weekend Writing Warriors, please visit here >

And here’s some info on Snippet Sunday >

Rodger chuckled at her admission. “I know you could learn the difference, given the right teacher.”

“I don’t know about that. My whole family is tone deaf–you should hear us at birthday parties.” What she did know was that Rodger’s proximity was turning her into a basket case. The closer he got to her, the more she fought the urge to turn towards him. If she did, nerves aside, she wouldn’t be able to stop herself from planting her lips on his. Or ripping open his shirt and rubbing her hands all over his famous chest like some crazed fan.

That would go over well, she was sure. He’d kick her out of the cab and she’d land right on her arse.

gerard smiling


30 thoughts on “Snippet Sunday’s Swashbuckler #11~Date With Rodger

  1. LOL! I’m late to the party but this is continuing to be a fun read. She’s so realistic, and I like that Rodger’s being something of a gentleman even though he’s probably picked up on her crush!

  2. What a nerve racking taxi ride…I hope she comes out of this unscathed…or do I? Very fun eight this week.

  3. If she doesn’t pay attention she’s going to end up doing exactly what she doesn’t want to do–make a spectacle of herself with Roger. LOL Like trying to avoid the one tree in the yard and so running into it. Love this exchange!

  4. I like her self-awareness and her determination to NOT ruin things.

    Love the use of ‘arse’ here, too—that doesn’t sound right, but you know what I mean!

  5. I love the personality you’ve given her. I hope Rodger realizes that she has more depth than a typical starlet.

    • Aw, thanks. S.J.! And thank you for being brave enough to admit you have hard time hearing the diff between accents. The hardest for me? Australian and New Zealandenenen. Maybe if I lived in that part of the world? Or maybe a vacation’s in order? Hmmm. Now THERE’S an idea!

    • You should have seen me last night, Teresa. I usually go to Google for pics of Gerard, but then I “discovered” some Gerry boards on Pinterest. WOW! And I thought I was a fan…

  6. Loved the snippet and her inner thoughts and struggles to keep her hands to herself. Well done!! 🙂

  7. Might Rodger be volunteering soon to be her teacher? You’ve really captured her personality with the fan-crush and her abundant self doubt. Great writing.

Share your thoughts. . .

