Snippet Sunday’s Swashbuckler #19

Welcome to Snippet Sunday! I hope your week went well and that you’ve been able to enjoy your weekend. It’s a beautiful Sunday here in California. Quiet. Calm. Just the way I love my Sundays to be. It’s now time to sit back and enjoy some reading…which is what I’ll be doing just as soon as I’m done posting. 🙂

This snippet is from Swashbuckler, my contemporary romance. Rachel, a high school teacher, is at a Hollywood party feeling very out of her element.

Rachel took a sip of her wine, followed by a bite of the red sashimi. Tuna, was it? It slid down her throat, a mild taste compared to what she usually had at the Japanese restaurants she could afford. The first bite was quickly followed by another. She tried to savor the fresh flavor, but with the unending supply, it was just too good to let linger in her mouth.

Well, at least it’s not carbs. Rachel grinned at the thought of gorging on raw fish. The omegas would be good for her. At least the party wouldn’t be a total loss.

“What’s making you smile?”

So who is this mystery man? Tune in next week…

From Wikicommons

From Wikicommons

Snippet Sunday is a weekly event when writers share from six to eight sentences of their work. Come see what it’s all about! Here we are on Facebook >

12 thoughts on “Snippet Sunday’s Swashbuckler #19

  1. That’s some fancy party she’s been invited to. I do indeed wonder who the mystery man is, and I like her inner thoughts about it not being carbs at least. Says a lot about her.

  2. “Fish are our friends, not food.”

    I love that she at least found one redeeming feature to the party. (And I can’t wait to hear her explain why she’s smiling — or come up with a different reason.)

    • I don’t understand these people who can’t stand sushi. 🙂 I know it’s not for everyone, but still! I can’t get enough of the stuff.

      Thank you for stopping by!

  3. Love fish, but want mine cooked. lol But boy did you make eating raw fish delicious. 🙂 Yep, I want to know who the mystery guy is, too.

Share your thoughts. . .

