Snippet Sunday’s Swashbuckler #21

Welcome to the weekend and to Snippet Sunday. Thank you so much for stopping by my little corner of the internet-world. Snippet Sunday is a Facebook group of authors, each of whom share up to 8–10 sentences of writing. It’s a wonderful way to support one another, give feedback, build connections in the writing community and, of course, discover a delicious new read! You’re welcome to join or just read but definitely please share if you find something you like! You can find us here > Snippet Sunday on Facebook

I’ve been doing edits on Swashbuckler, my contemporary romance, and it will be ready for prime time any day now. So excited! And a little nervous, if I’m honest. I’ve been working on this for so long…hard to believe that I’ll actually have a finished product. 🙂 This snippet is at the beginning of the book and continues almost from where we left off last week. Rachel, my heroine, is at a Hollywood-ish party, feeling very out of place. The ‘he’ in the first sentence is the He-man from last week’s snippet. Hope you enjoy! And as always, feedback is welcome.

Yes, he definitely belonged here at this party.

The man turned his head back in Rachel’s direction and his eyes grabbed hers. He quirked his lips into a crooked grin. “Am I right in guessing you usually don’t attend these things?”

“Is it that obvious?” Rachel asked, wondering if she should be offended or relieved that it was so clear she didn’t belong. “I thought it’d be fun but I didn’t think I’d feel so out of place.”

“You get used to it,” he answered. “So where do you normally belong?”

“I’m a high school teacher.” Rachel smiled at the incongruence of a high school teacher being at an industry party.

And the picture has everything to do with the lines just before this snippet, but nothing to do with the sentences I ended up posting–so it kind of relates. But let’s be real, he’s just too yummy NOT to post. 😉

512px-Male_nude_torso

12 thoughts on “Snippet Sunday’s Swashbuckler #21

  1. Did he truly come to her rescue or did he feel more comfortable being by her side. I want to know if he’s attended such functions. 🙂 Great snippet. Congrats on your upcoming release. How exciting!

  2. He-man is definitely cute in that photo, Karysa. I liked it that he keyed on her and came to her rescue. I’m with Siobhan – maybe he picked her out not because she looks lost to everyone, but because he recognized a kindred spirit. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Yumm – that picture is… wonderful.
    Hmm, back to the snippet. She is quick to make an assumption about him but maybe it is because she feels uncomfortable herself.

Share your thoughts. . .

